Meet the WriMos: Jim

JimDenney

[Who are you?]

I’m Jim Denney, @WriterJimDenney on Twitter. I’ve been a full-time writer since 1989.

[Have you written anything before?]

I’ve written/co-written more than a hundred books, mostly nonfiction, in both traditional and indie publishing. I wrote the four-book Timebenders science-fantasy series for middle-grade readers (beginning with Battle Before Time), published by Thomas Nelson in 2002, and reissued by Greenbrier Books in 2012. I’ve also written a couple of indie-published books for writers, Writing in Overdrive and Write Fearlessly!.

[What are you writing for NaNo?]

My NaNoWriMo project is space opera with a philosophical twist.

It’s a novel I’ve wanted to write for a long time, and I confess I’ve made a couple of abortive starts before. I’m scrapping all previous work, starting from scratch on November 1, and approaching the project with some new ideas and a different POV than before.

[Is this your first NaNo?]

My very first! I wanted to do NaNoWriMo last year, but deadlines prevented me. In some ways, my schedule this November could be even worse than last year, but I’m determined to make it happen in 2013.

[What have you done to prepare?]

The only prep I’ve done so far (as of October 24) is to try to clear away as many deadline writing projects as I can before November arrives. I do have a fairly short nonfiction book I’ll be writing in November (it’s supposed to come in at around 45,000 words), so I’ll need to produce my novel on top of the nonfiction book. But I also know a lot of NaNoWriMo writers will be writing their novels evenings and weekends after their day job, so the nonfiction book is just my day job.

I haven’t done any actual prep work for the novel, but I hope to do some soon. Not a detailed outline, but a few rough notes to keep me focused. I want to leave actual scenes and character interaction unplanned. I want the story to grow as organically as possible in the writing.

[What do you hope to gain out of NaNo?]

A completed novel, that’s all. A novel I’ve been wanting to write for years. When November 1 arrives, I intend to be ready.

I notice a lot of NaNo people use pseudonym-ish usernames. It made me wonder if I was making a mistake by signing on as plain ol’ JimDenney. Oh well.

Make a new NaNo buddy to help you get through it:

Find Jim on NaNoWriMo and fight your plot bunnies together!

JimDenneyAvatar

Wishing everyone an inspired, enthusiastic, successful journey!
—Jim D.

Related Topics:
Meet the Wrimos | Writing Tips

Share your thoughts

